What’s in My Journal…

June 10, 2007 at 7:25 am (ATC's, journal)

 

What’s in My Journal

 

Odd things, like a button drawer

Mean things, fishhooks, barbs in your hand

But marbles too

A genius for being agreeable

Junkyard crucifixes, voluptuous discards

Space for knickknacks, and for Alaska

Evidence to hang me, or to beatify

Clues that lead nowhere, that never connect anyway

Deliberate obfuscation, the kind that takes genius

Chasma in character

Load omissions

Mornings that yawn above a new grave

Pages you know exist.

 

~ William Stafford

 

 

I collect quotes, poems and sayings… I scribble them everywhere… I add them to my art work… I write them in my journals… I even have a word document where I copy and paste ‘jottings’ I find online… well I’ve decided to use the above poem in connection with my latest piece of fabric…

I realise everyone reads something different into each piece of writing/art… so I’m not going to say much about this poem… on the surface it seemed so me… i have boxes of discards / knickknacks… a button tin.. lots of marbles (I use them in my indigo dyeing)…. there’s hundreds of fishing hooks in this house… I love Alaska (but have never been… the reality might be different)… that said I’m not going to say any more even though other lines do say something to me…

Anyway it seemed to fit with the piece of black/white (with a hint of red) fabric I’m working on at the moment… the ‘plus size’ inches that I’m working on also need to include words so… it’s a questions of which to pick… can you think of a way to attach the whole poem?

As yet without the hint of red… but cut up ready to make into ATCs…

 

 

4 Comments

  1. freebird(Timaree) said,

    If you are talking about putting the whole poem on your BJP you could add a line or two to each page and explore each line on its own.

  2. Tricia said,

    I’m sort of thinking of picking one or two words to put on the actual piece of work… but attaching the whole poem – rolled up like an old scroll?!…

  3. Cheryl said,

    Hi,
    I have a word doc that I copy and paste quotes in, too. I’m planning on using one in next month’s beaded journal page. I found some printable fabric I’m going to try and use. Not only am I exercising my creativity and my beading skills with this project…but my tech skills as well 🙂

    Cheryl

  4. soulatplay said,

    I’m in the process of turning a box into a shrine… and I’ve loads of quotes that I’m planning to put in there… I’m taking pictures as I’m making it… so that I can most it as a mini project…

    best wishes

Leave a Reply

